Existential Sentences and the Iraya particle Maki


I have come across this stub about the Iraya language in Mindoro and I just realized something while reading it: This language has an existential particle maki “have, there is/are”.

Now, that reminds me of Tagalog and Bikol particle may, which I think is cognate with the same particle and shows a deletion of the –k- in the middle of it: maki > mai > may. Somehow, I have a feeling that maki is [ma-] + [ki-].

This possible origin gives a special insight into the structure of existential sentences in these languages.

2 Responses to “Existential Sentences and the Iraya particle Maki”

  1. Danilo K Says:

    Tantalizing connection. I have some ideas about Phil. existentials I explored here:
    https://www.academia.edu/1919248/Exclamatives_and_temporal_nominalizations_in_Austronesian
    but I never considered a connection between maki- and may.

    • vagabonddrifter Says:

      Hey Daniel, I love reading your works, specially about your theory on nominalisation. Really intriguing!

      I’ve read your linked work in the comment and thanks for that. Its possible that may and kay could be related, with Iraya maki coming from ma+kay. And Tagalog/Bikol may could simply be ma+i. These two (ma+kay and ma+y) could be alternative ways of combining ma- and a nominal particle.

      I did notice though that what ever follows may is indefinite.


Leave a Reply

